Rockaway Borough seal

1 E. Main St.
Rockaway, NJ 07866

Mayor and Council

The Borough of Rockaway government consists of an elected mayor and six elected council members. The mayor serves a four-year term, and each year two council members are elected to three-year terms.


Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


Thomas Mulligan
Phone Number: 973-627-2000

Robert Smith
Council President
Phone Number: 973-627-2000

Members of the Governing Body

Melissa Burnside (term expires 12/31/20)
Russell Greuter (term expires 12/31/22)
Thomas Haynes (term expires 12/31/21)
James Hurley (term expires 12/31/21)
Patrick McDonald (term expires 12/31/20)
Robert Smith (term expires 12/31/22)

Standing Committees of Council

Finance & License Committee
Chairperson: James Hurley
Members: Patrick McDonald, Melissa Burnside

Fire Committee
Chairperson: Melissa Burnside
Members: Russell Greuter, Thomas Haynes

Ordinance Committee
Chairperson: Robert Smith
Members: Russell Greuter, James Hurley

Personnel Committee
Chairperson: Patrick McDonald
Members: Thomas Haynes, James Hurley

Public Safety Committee
Chairperson: Russell Greuter
Members: Melissa Burnside, Robert Smith

Public Utility and Works Committee
Chairperson: Thomas Haynes
Members: Patrick McDonald, Robert Smith


Council meetings are scheduled to be held on the second and fourth Thursdays of the month at the Community Center, 21-25 Union Street. Meetings begin at 7:30 p.m. and are open to the public. See the meetings page for complete schedule.

Minutes and Agendas

Minutes and agendas are posted on e-code. Click here to view minutes. Click here to view agendas.

Copyright 2020 Borough of Rockaway
Custom website design by JPerlee Design